Three True Things

Mark tagged me for this meme: three true things you’ve read recently, from fiction. I’m taking a generous value of recently because otherwise it would all be Shakespeare.

Prince. I never did see such pitiful rascals.
Falstaff. Tut, tut; good enough to toss; food for powder, food for powder; they’ll fill a pit as well as better: tush, man, mortal men, mortal men.

William Shakespeare, 2 Henry IV 4.2.65-68

In youth, one day, in the Russian countryside, latitude of Labrador, a racket was given to me to play with the family of the Orientalist Gotovtsev, perhaps you have heard. It was, I recollect, a splendid summer day and we played, played, played until all the twelve balls were lost. You also will recollect the past with interest when old.

Vladimir Nabokov, Pnin

Some ain’t need to be stoned in order to have strange cares.

Chris Onstad, Achewood

Passing it on to Rachel, Britta and Tom.

2 responses to “Three True Things

  1. That paragraph from Pnin is one of my favourite Nabokov moments, admittedly one of many.

  2. That’s a great post on the meme, Mike. I wondered if you’d throw in some Shakespeare. I love that last sentence from the Nabokov excerpt. Unfortunately, I’m finding one doesn’t have to be that old to start recalling the past with fondness.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.