Swann’s Way: Combray

I’ve got ahead of myself, having finished Swann’s Way already. I’m going to wait till November to start the next volume.

Back in Combray
Unfolding with the scent of tea
Back in Combray
Recurring like a rondelet
A little world, centered on me
Asparagus perfumes my wee
Back in Combray.

Mostly because the coffee-pistachio ice in ‘Overture’ sounded so delicious, I started tweeting mentions of food using the #proustfood hashtag. ‘Combray’ is full of food (much more so than ‘Swann in love’), flowers, and evocations of the Gothic. It’s beautiful and very funny. This was the quality that most surprised me when I first read Swann’s Way about six years ago: the portraits of  characters such as Aunt Léonie and Françoise are brilliant.

Leave a Reply

