Swann’s Way: Overture

First World Problems

Swann’s Way is the only volume of À la recherche du temps perdu that I’ve read before. The first time – about six years ago – it seemed like much more of an effort. I think that it took me a long time to adjust to Proust’s pace.

I was planning on reading the revised Moncrieff translation, but I happened upon a partial set of the above edition of the original Moncrieff at a bookstore in Albury the other week and couldn’t resist it. I bought the first two books (comprising Swann’s Way), spent a half an hour walking around town and decided I should get the next two while I had the chance. Went back and said to the store’s owner “yeah, those were pretty good, thought I’d get the next couple.”

Leave a Reply

