RIP Ray Bradbury

I am getting a bit teary just remembering “All Summer In A Day”. From Borges’ preface to a Spanish translation of The Martian Chronicles (via Metafilter):

What has this man from Illinois done, I ask myself when closing the pages of his book, that episodes from the conquest of another planet fill me with horror and loneliness?

Which reminds me of these words from a letter to a fan by Tom Waits:

Lots of great people come from Illinois because it’s so flat you have to dream up everything, that’s what my wife says….she’s from there, & lots of Presidents are from Illinois.

Leave a Reply

