Picture This

The Logical Song (1)

As Mr Casey reminds us, the lyrics of pop songs can be adversely affected by the cold light of reason. For example, in Blondie’s “Picture This”, Ms Harry sings:

I will give you my finest hour
The one I spent watching you shower

This inversion of the male gaze is an admirable example of the many instances of female sexual agency to be found in the works of Ms Harry, but it also leads one to reflect that the apartment in question is equipped with a remarkable hot water service. Perhaps the shower is cold, but the implication of this would be out of keeping with the remainder of the lyric.  Especially in “freezing cold weather”.

Admittedly, “finest hour” is more idiomatic than other units of time. And the first alternative which springs to mind is no real improvement:

I will give you my finest minute
The one I spent watching a shower… with you in it

One response to “Picture This

  1. Perhaps the ‘you’ is plural?

    I will give y’all my finest hour
    The one I spent watching twenty of you shower.

    That’s still a hell of a hot water system, though.

Leave a Reply

