Troilus and Cressida

Shakespeare: the funny bits

Act IV, scene IV. Troy. Pandarus’ house.

Enter PANDARUS and CRESSIDA

Pan. Be moderate, be moderate.

Cres. Why tell you me of moderation?
The grief is fine, full, perfect, that I taste,
And violenteth in a sense as strong
As that which causeth it: how can I moderate it?
If I could temporize with my affection,
Or brew it to a weak and colder palate,
The like allayments could I give my grief.
My love admits no qualifying dross;
No more my grief, in such a precious loss.

Enter TROILUS

Pan. Here, here, here he comes. Ah, sweet ducks!

Cres. O Troilus! Troilus! [Embracing him

Pan. What a pair of spectacles is here!

Leave a Reply

