Songs in a Subjunctive Mood II

This is a rerun of an old post, with the extra songs Laura contributed in the comments. Mostly because I want to see if Peter has any extra suggestions.

“If It Be Your Will” – Leonard Cohen
“Your Song” – Elton John and Bernie Taupin
“If I Were a Carpenter” – Bobbie Darin
“Six Ribbons” – Jon English
“If You Could Read My Mind” – Gordon Lightfoot
“If I Can Dream” – Elvis Presley
“If You See Her, Say Hello” – Bob Dylan
“If She Knew What She Wants” – The Bangles
“Time after Time” – Cyndi Lauper
“If I Were a Rich Man”  – Harnick and Bock
“If I Knew You Were Coming I’d’ve Baked a Cake” – Cookie Monster

9 responses to “Songs in a Subjunctive Mood II

  1. If I Could Turn Back Time

  2. “El Condor Pasa” – Simon and Garfunkel

  3. Sorry I’m late!

    “If” – Bread
    “If I Fell” – The Beatles
    “If I Needed Someone” – The Beatles
    “If You Want My Love” – Cheap Trick
    “It’s a Long Way to the Top” – AC/DC
    “If You’re Going to San Francisco” – Scott Mackenzie
    “Damn (I Wish I Was Your Lover)” – Sophie B. Hawkins
    “Take a Chance On Me” – ABBA
    “If You Let Me Stay” – Terence Trent D’arby
    “If (They Made Me a King)” – Perry Como
    “If I Had a Hammer” – Peter, Paul and Mary
    And two from The Wizard of Oz:
    “If I Had Only Had a Brain”
    “If I Were the King of the Forest”

  4. Oh, and these showtunes:

    “If I Were a Bell” – Guys and Dolls
    “If I Loved You” – Carousel
    “If They Could See Me Now” – Sweet Charity
    “If Momma Was Married” – Gypsy
    “If You Could See Her” – Cabaret

    Lucky I had my mum helping me …

  5. Perhaps, perhaps, perhaps

  6. I want to hear a mashup of “If I Had a Hammer” and “If I Were a Bell” now.

    Not to mention a hyperprecise rendition of “Damn I Wish I Were Your Lover” by Sophie B Pedantic.

  7. And my Mother, Sara, came back this morning with these:

    “If I Ruled the World” – Harry Secombe
    “If I Were a Blackbird” – any folk singer
    “If You Love, Really Love Me” – Kay Starr, Vera Lynn et al.
    “I’d Climb the Highest Mountain” – Al Jolson

  8. Pingback: Lie Lady Lie and Lie Down Sally « major to minor

  9. These two songs were on the same radio station, at the same time, on two successive days. Methinks the computer that decides the playlist is a subtle creature:

    If I Was – Midge Ure
    If I Could – 1927

    They’re essentially the same song.

Leave a Reply

