Wake in Fright

A vision of Hell where the demons are a bunch of blokes who all look exactly like my great-uncles. It made me feel a very peculiar mixture of nostalgia and dread, and is one of the few films I’ve seen which actually gave me a hangover. When I came out I wanted a beer and also never to touch a drop of alcohol again.

The role of kangaroos in the film is interesting. Nowadays we find the idea of shooting them much more abhorrent than eating them. I think it was the reverse in 1971.

Leave a Reply

