John Hughes R.I.P.

In 1986, a pretty girl who I wasn’t exactly friends with struck up a conversation with me about “this English band called The Smiths who I heard you were into” and asked if I would tape any albums I had, so of course I made her a copy of Meat is Murder and The Queen Is Dead. In hindsight, this odd level of interest in both Smiths and myself was probably due to the influence of John Hughes, although I hadn’t seen any of his work at the time and was merely annoyed at him for the fact that my 7″ copy of New Order’s “Shell-shock” had the words “From the Pretty In Pink Motion Picture Soundtrack” printed on the label. For some reason I found this a bit embarrassing. I can’t remember the girl’s name.

Leave a Reply

