The Taming of the Shrew

Shakespeare: the funny bits

Starring Sacha Baron Cohen as Petruchio and Scarlett Johannson as Katharina.

Pet. How many fingers am I holding up?
Kat. Four. [she pouts
Pet. You’ll sing a different tune when you’ve been starved
And locked up in my house, where I can beat
And punish you as much as I see fit.
Whoops! pardon me, did I say that out loud?
How many fingers am I holding up?
Kat. [submissively] As many as you tell me, O my lord.
Pet. Attagirl. [A large cartoon safe falls on him.

As with Les Murray’s poetry, if you knock The Taming of the Shrew people will assume that you’re doing it for political reasons, but it really is a clunker, with one good speech, a cast of interchangeably dull Italian suitors and a pointless framing device involving a drunken tinker which seems to have slipped the author’s mind after Act One.

2 responses to “The Taming of the Shrew

  1. Plus is was turned into that crappy Heath Ledger teen flick. Although that’s not really Shakespeare’s fault.

  2. It may have been crappy but it got more laughs out of me than the play ever could.

    Although they were all for Larry Miller.

Leave a Reply

