Unthinkable

Remember this whinge? Obvious really must be the new black, because I’ve only come across a handful more examples since then:

David Bohm thought that thinking is the problem, not the solution.

Not two weeks after my original post, Momus, with his typical wit, dutifully tried to think the opposite of his initial thoughts about cancer-peddling mystagogue Paul Arden.

And an ad for some finance book, which I won’t bother linking to, asked me “What if everything you believed about investing was WRONG?”

But when Brian Eno and Kevin Kelly’s Unthinkable Futures from fifteen years ago resurfaced on Boing Boing I knew it was all over. I read these when they were fresh, as part of Eno’s book A Year With Swollen Appendices, and I’m pretty embarrassed when I remember how cool I thought they were. Oh so heretical, with the possible exception of the joke stolen from that Woody Allen movie. Dear me.

I don’t know what’s going to get us through the next century but I don’t think that sarcastic, calculated outrageousness will be a big part of it.

“You keep using that word… I do not think it means what you think it means.”

Leave a Reply

