Thomas M Disch RIP

This is horrible news: Thomas M Disch committed suicide.

Michael Moorcock’s obituary

“The Squirrel Cage” and “Descending” are two of my favourite short stories, ever, regardless of genre. There’s a blog post out there that quotes from “The Squirrel Cage” and give away the final paragraph: don’t read it before you read the whole story. I was going to cover Disch in one of my “sf authors who should be in the canon” posts but I can’t bring myself to put a snide subtitle on this one.

Leave a Reply

