Isambard Kingdom Brunel

My Dad has been in hospital since Saturday: he’s coming home today. He had a minor stroke – nothing a CAT scan could see, but it garbled his speech for about twenty-four hours. Because of this, in addition to the usual “point at my finger, then at your nose” neuro tests, the doctors have been getting him to read aloud to them. He recently got back from a holiday in the UK which was even more engineering-related than mine – we independently picked the Falkirk Wheel as a destination but he also went to lots of railway museums and the SS Great Britain in Bristol.

So the doctors are finding out all about Isambard Kingdom Brunel, which is the topic of all his hospital reading material.

He and Mum are in pretty good spirits. I don’t mention my family here very often, apart from my daughters, but you should know that my parents and my brother and sister are wonderful, and I love them.

Leave a Reply

