Snow Crash

Backlog of tiny reviews 7

I got a copy at a garage sale held by an old friend of mine who is going to live in Fiji with her new husband, where she will be working in an visual arts organisation on bringing the accountability and transparency procedures up to EU standards, as they are receiving foreign arts funding in large amounts for the first time; I find these circumstances to be much more fascinating and exotic than any of the globalised shenanigans in the novel’s near-future scenario, so I stopped reading after the first chapter. Just think of how much 90s sf could be boiled down to “LOL Former Soviet Republic of Made-upistan ROFL with ninjas”.

I already knew that I didn’t care about skateboards, but I had no idea how deep my disinterest went until I tried to get into this book.

Leave a Reply

