Seven Types of Ambiguity

Backlog of tiny reviews 3

Empson casually draws an endless stream of double-meanings from his poetic texts, only to brush them aside as quibbles, as he then swans (that’s the only word for it) into the next chapter. The analysis of Crashaw in the final chapter is alarming and hilarious. I knew the Metaphysicals were odd but I didn’t know just kinky they could get.

Empson had the weirdest facial hair in the world, but that’s neither here nor there.

2 responses to “Seven Types of Ambiguity

  1. Empson makes a tantalizing offstage cameo in one of my favourite novels, Norman Rush’s Mating. I always wanted to use Seven Types of Ambiguity as a title for a short story collection, but somebody beat me to it. Elliot wossname? It was all right.

  2. I’m thankful to Elliot wossname, even though I haven’t read his book, for reminding me that I had been meaning to read the Empson for almost 20 years now.

Leave a Reply

