The Young Ones

A lot patchier than I remembered, but the good bits are still good. What I really want to know is this: did anyone – and I didn’t, even at the time, when I was fourteen, and pretty good, if I may say so, at convincing myself that things were hilarious, even if they weren’t – ever think Mike the Cool Person was funny?

2 responses to “The Young Ones

  1. I have always been uncertain about whether he was supposed to be…was he?

  2. Yeah I know what you mean. I think he’s supposed to be “not funny” in a deliberate way, where the real joke is how creaky the character’s smartarse/smutty sense of humour is; and also I suspect an excuse for the writers to have fun writing the creaky old gags. And I guess he’s there as a foil for the other characters. But it just falls flat.

Leave a Reply

